BACA Projects: Aura - Hao Liang
How to look at art from China

Chinese contemporary artist Hao Liang (1983, Chengdu, China) has attracted considerable attention on the international art scene for his ability to get into the deeper layers of art history and to reactivate the way of dealing with tradition. Aura has come about as a result of Hao Liang's own committed and unremitting research into Chinese art history and the Bonnefanten collection. This project will provide a unique glimpse of the artist's view on artistic crossroads between era and culture, featuring a series of collotype prints that are on display for the first time. Throughout the exhibition
period, Hao Liang's works will be accompanied by a changing selection of works out of the museum collection that have inspired him, and works by Van Eyck participants SulSolSal and Damon Zucconi.

Aura will be accompanied by a publication in collaboration
with Musée National d'Art Moderne, Centre Pompidou
(Paris) and Vitamin Creative Space (Guangzhou) featuring
essays by Catherine David, Hu Fang and Stijn Huijts.

How to look at art from China

As a part of the BACA (Bonnefanten Award for Contemporary Art), the Bonnefanten proudly presents BACA Projects, in collaboration with Van Eyck.

On 29 September, the Bonnefanten Award for Contemporary Art 2016 (BACA) was awarded to Cai Guo-Qiang (1957, Quanzhou, Fujian, China). The BACA is the most important award for international visual art in the Netherlands. The award was presented for the ninth time this year. Consisting of a sum of 50,000 Euros, a publication and a solo exhibition, the Award is a tribute to a living non-Western artist with an exceptional oeuvre and a demonstrable influence on other artists, exhibition makers and art professionals. The exhibition Cai Guo-Qiang: My Stories of Painting is on show now in the Bonnefanten (30.09.2016 – 01.05.2017).

The international selection committee for 2016 comprised of Cao Fei (artist), Stijn Huijts (Bonnefantenmuseum director), William Lim (architect, collector), Carol Lu (curator, writer), Lars Nittve (former director M+ Museum Hong Kong) and Uli Sigg (collector).

The BACA was previously awarded to Eija-Liisa Ahtila (2000), Neo Rauch (2002), Pawel Althamer (2004), Bethan Huws (2006), John Baldessari (2008), Francis Alÿs (2010), Mary Heilmann (2012) and Laura Lima (2014).

Miniature burl wood